2017 Student of the Year Application is due Friday, February 10
Download Application

PRAM’s Student of the Year Award is bestowed to one student annually who exemplifies the professionalism, goals, and ideals of the public relations profession. The Student of the Year winner is announced at the annual PRAM Conference, where they are presented with a $1,000 scholarship and the Student of the Year Award.

Eligible students meet the following requirements: (a) must be an undergraduate at a Mississippi university or college that offers at least one course with the words ‘public relations’ in the course title, (b) must be a full-time student, (c) must have completed at least one course with the words ‘public relations’ in the title by the end of December of the year they are nominated, and (d) must be a public relations, communication, journalism or marketing communications major. Each applicant’s score is based on academic excellence and academic honors along with public relations activities and experience; campus involvement plus community activities; and the articulation of future goals and a letter of recommendation from the student’s nominating professor/instructor.

Each Student of the Year Award nominee, and the nominating professor/instructor, receives recognition at the PRAM state conference, among other opportunities. For more information, download the Student of the Year Application here.

Contact Kylie Boring, PRAM VP of Student Services ( with any questions.



2016 – Student of the Year – Kathryn Duke, The University of Southern Mississippi

2016 – Outstanding PR Student – Tori Lynn Olker, The University of Mississippi

2015 – Student of the Year – Christine B. Bowman, Mississippi State University

2015 – Outstanding PR Student – Chelsea E. Dillard, Mississippi State University

2014 – Student of the Year – Ashley Dillard – Mississippi College

2014 – Outstanding PR Student – Karelia Schmitz – University of Southern Mississippi

2013 – Did not award.

2013 – Did not award.

2012 – Student of the Year – Kristie Warino – University of Mississippi

2012 – Outstanding PR Student – Foster Page – Mississippi State University

2011 – Student of the Year – Elizabeth Fine – Mississippi State University

2011 – Outstanding PR Student – Erin Parsons – University of Mississippi

2010 – Student of the Year – Kayla Bradley – Mississippi State University

2010 – Outstanding PR Student – Jennifer Puhr – Mississippi State University

Prior to 2010, PRAM awarded a scholarship to a deserving student nominated by a professor.