In 2008, PRAM began recognizing outstanding professional educator members through its Educator of the Year award.

PRAM established this award to recognize an educator who has taught public relations or a closely-related discipline and who has demonstrated a commitment to advance the profession of public relations. Full-time faculty members teaching in a public relations/journalism/communication curriculum, at any rank, who are members of the Public Relations Association of Mississippi are eligible for nomination.


2014: Karyn Brown – Mississippi State University

2013: Nadia Bush – University of South Alabama

2012: Dr. Van Roberts – Mississippi University for Women

2011: Dr. John Forde, APR – Mississippi State University

2010: Leyla Goodsell – The University of Southern Mississippi

2009: Robin Street, APR – University of Mississippi*

2008: Dr. Laura Walton, APR – Mississippi State University*

*Denotes PRAM members who also received the Educator of the Year award from the Southern Public Relations Federation.